Dr. Buff-up Auto Detailing is a Proud Provider of Guardian Interlock Ignition System

Need an ignition interlock in PA? Guardian Interlock!

Start Your Ignition Interlock with Guardian Interlock System!

Most Affordable Interlock Solution  Enjoy easy payment options that will fit any budget.  Fast, Easy and Affordable Getting You Back on the Road Safely and Legally!


 Dr. Buff-up is a proud provider of the Guardian Interlock System.  Our goal is to ensure that you regain your driving privileges with the least expense and most reliable solutions.  The Guardian Interlock system allows you to successfully retake control of life and keep it that way.  Designed to be easy and accurate, the Guardian Ignition Interlock device ensures you stay on the road to success.  The device design is discrete and comfortable to use.  The sensors are accurate and reliable.  Our service professionals are always an easy call away.


Pennsylvania State Laws

Pennsylvania DUI/DAI cases are unique, since there is no pre-trial administrative driver’s license suspension, as there is in many other states. The only driver’s license consequences are the ones imposed by the court.Pennsylvania DUI/DAI cases may be referred to as drunk driving, driving under the influence (DUI), driving while impaired (DWI) or the new driving after imbibing (DAI). Pennsylvania has a 3-tier system of DAI penalties based on BAC (blood alcohol concentration) measured at the time of the arrest and no later than within 2 hours after operating the vehicle. Correspondingly, Tier 1 imposes the mildest set of punishments, Tier 3 with the most severe. However, other factors, such as presence or absence or property damage and personal injury as a result of DAI also matter and may be a basis for transferring the DAI offense to a higher category with more severe set of penalties, for example from Tier 1 to Tier 2 or Tier 2 to Tier 3. In addition, there are special categories of drivers with lower maximum allowable BAC levels, which affects which punishment tire they fall into. The range of punishment within each Tier also varies, being the mildest for 1st time DAI offenders, more severe for 2nd time offenders and most strict for those who get arrested to DAI in Pennsylvania for more than 2 times. 

Tiered Penalty System

Tiered Penalty System Three-tiered penalty system  Separate penalties for those who drive with a blood alcohol content of:

General Impairment: 0.08 to less than 0.10%

  • First Offense – Misdemeanor: $300 fine, mandatory minimum 6 months’ probation, up to 150 hours of community service, possible attendance at victim impact panel, must attend alcohol highway safety school, and alcohol abuse screening and treatment as required.
  • Second Offense – Misdemeanor: $300 to $2,500 fine, not less than 5 days in jail, 12 months license suspension, 1 year ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement, up to 150 hours of community service, possible attendance at victim impact panel, mandatory alcohol highway safety school, and alcohol abuse screening and treatment as required.
  • Third Offense – Misdemeanor: $500 to $5,000 fine, not less than 10 days in jail, 12 months license suspension, 1 year ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement, up to 150 hours of community service, possible attendance at victim impact panel, and alcohol abuse screening and treatment as required.

High Rate of Alcohol – 0.10 to less than 0.16%

  • First Offense – Misdemeanor: $500 to $5,000 fine, not less than 48 hours in jail, 12 months license suspension (occupational restricted license may be available after first 60 days suspension), up to 150 hours of community service, possible attendance at victim impact panel, must attend alcohol highway safety school, and alcohol abuse screening and treatment as required.
  • Second Offense – Misdemeanor: $750 to $5,000 fine, not less than 30 days jail, 12 months license suspension, 1 year ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement, up to 150 hours of community service, possible attendance at victim impact panel, mandatory alcohol highway safety school, and alcohol abuse screening and treatment as required.
  • Third Offense – Misdemeanor: $1,500 to $10,000 fine, not less than 90 days in jail, 18 months license suspension, 1 year ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement, up to 150 hours of community service, possible attendance at victim impact panel,and alcohol abuse screening and treatment as required.                                                                                                                Highest Rate of Alcohol – 0.16 or higher
  • First Offense – Misdemeanor: $1,000 to $5,000 fine, not less than 72 hours in jail, 12 months license suspension (occupational restricted license may be available after first 60 days of suspension), up to 150 hours of community service, possible attendance at victim impact panel, mandatory alcohol highway safety school, and alcohol abuse screening and treatment as required
  • Second Offense – Misdemeanor: not less than $1,500 fine, not less than 90 days in jail, 18 months license suspension, 1 year ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement, up to 150 hours of community service, possible attendance at victim impact panel, mandatory alcohol highway safety school, and alcohol abuse screening and treatment as required.
  • Third Offense – Misdemeanor: not less than $2,500 fine, not less than 1 year in jail, 18 months license suspension, 1 year ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement, up to 150 hours of community service, possible attendance at victim impact panel, and alcohol abuse screening and treatment as required.


COMPLETE INSTALLATION AND MONITORING

Guardian Interlock offers complete installation and monitoring of an ignition interlock device on a wide range of vehicles to help you maintain compliance with Pennsylvania driving restrictions.

Frequently Asked Questions about Ignition Interlock Devices

Frequently Asked Questions - Ignition Interlock Overview - English and Spanish Version

Below is a list of commonly asked questions and/or concerns

about ignition interlock devices.


WHAT IS AN IGNITION

INTERLOCK?

An ignition interlock system is a small

device about the size of a cell phone.

It works by measuring the amount

of alcohol in an individual’s system.

If the device registers over the set

limit, the car will not start. If the

driver’s breath test is below the

pre-set limit, the car will start,

however, there are required re-tests

that must be performed during the

course of the drive, preventing a

driver from having someone else

start the car, or having a drink once

the car starts.

The interlock device needs to be serviced and

calibrated every 30-60 days, depending on state

law and the type of device installed.


HOW MUCH WILL AN

IGNITION INTERLOCK COST?

The cost of an interlock device varies,

depending on the type of device and monitoring

that’s required. Generally, the installation cost is

$70-$150, with $60-$90 per month for monitoring

service and calibration.

Companies may also charge for late or missed

appointments, violation resets and de-installation.

Be sure to ask for an inclusive list before choosing

a provider.


HOW LONG WILL I HAVE TO

HAVE THE INTERLOCK?

Interlocks can be installed for as little as 30 days

to an indefinite period of time. The length of your

interlock program is dependent on several factors,

including:

• The offense with which you were charged

and/or convicted

• The length of time you have your device without failing any breath tests


WILL AN IGNITION INTERLOCK

DAMAGE MY VEHICLE?

No, interlocks are installed by certified technicians who connect the device to the wiring of the vehicle under the dash and hood. When the

device is removed from the vehicle the wiring is returned to its original condition.


IF THE INTERLOCK MALFUNCTIONS,

WILL THE DEVICE SHUT OFF MY

VEHICLE?

No. An ignition interlock will NEVER shut off a

running vehicle.


WHAT HAPPENS IF THE DEVICE

BREAKS?

Most ignition interlock companies allow customers to add liability coverage to their monthly fee in order

to cover the device if it is broken or stolen. The liability coverage generally costs $5-$10 per month.

Sponsored by:

ENSURING SAFETY FOR OVER 20 YEARS



Ignition Interlock Overview - Spanish Version


INFORMACIÓN GENERAL SOBRE EL

DISPOSITIVO DE BLOQUEO DE ENCENDIDO

La siguiente es una lista de las preguntas más frecuentes y/o

las inquietudes sobre los dispositivos de bloqueo de encendido.

QUE ES UN DISPOSITIVO DE

BLOQUEO DE ENCENDIDO?

Un sistema de bloqueo de encendido

es un pequeño dispositivo del tamaño

aproximado de un teléfono celular.

Trabaja midiendo la cantidad de

alcohol en el organismo de una

persona. Si el dispositivo registra

una lectura por encima del límite

establecido, el auto no enciende. Si

la prueba del aliento del conductor

es inferior al límite preestablecido,

el auto encenderá, pero se exigen

pruebas adicionales que se deben

realizar a lo largo del período durante

el cual se conduce, para evitar que un

conductor le pida a otra persona que

encienda el auto o beba una vez que el

auto esté encendido.

El dispositivo de bloqueo de encendido debe recibir

servicio y calibrarse cada 30-60 días, dependiendo

de la ley del estado y el tipo de dispositivo instalado.

¿CUÁNTO CUESTA UN

DISPOSITIVO DE BLOQUEO

DE ENCENDIDO?

El costo de un dispositivo de bloqueo de encendido

varía, dependiendo del tipo de dispositivo y de la

monitorización que se requiera. Por lo general, el

costo de la instalación es de $70 a $150, con un

costo adicional de $60 a $90al mes por el servicio

de monitorización y calibración.

Las empresas también pueden efectuar cargos

por citas tardías o perdidas, violación de reinicio y

desinstalación. Cerciórese de pedir una lista integral

antes de elegir un proveedor.

¿CUÁNTO TIEMPO TENDRÉ

QUE USAR EL DISPOSITIVO

DE BLOQUEO DE ENCENDIDO?

Los dispositivos de bloqueo de encendido se pueden

instalar desde 30 días hasta un período indefinido

de tiempo. El tiempo de duración de su programa de

bloqueo de encendido depende de diversos factores,

entre otros:

• La infracción por la cual se le hayan efectuado

cargos y/o se le haya condenado

• La cantidad de tiempo que haya tenido su

dispositivo sin reprobar ninguna prueba del aliento

¿EL DISPOSITIVO DE BLOQUEO

DE ENCENDIDO DAÑARÁ MI

VEHÍCULO?

No, los dispositivos de bloqueo de encendido son

instalados por técnicos certificados quienes conectan

el dispositivo al cableado de su vehículo bajo el tablero

y el capó. Cuando se retira el dispositivo del vehículo

el cableado vuelve a su condición original.

SI EL DISPOSITIVO DE BLOQUEO DE

ENCENDIDO FALLA, ¿SE APAGARÁ

MI VEHÍCULO?

No. El dispositivo de encendido NUNCA apaga

un motor en funcionamiento.

¿QUÉ OCURRE SI EL

DISPOSITIVO SE ROMPE?

La mayoría de las empresas que trabajan con

dispositivos de bloqueo de encendido permiten a

sus clientes añadir cobertura de responsabilidad civil

a su tarifa mensual para cubrir el dispositivo si este se

rompe o se lo roban. La cobertura por responsabilidad

civil generalmente cuesta entre $5 y $10 al mes.

Patrocinado por:

Ignition Interlock Overview - English and Spanish Version (pdf)

Download